If I roll a double 4 (let’s assume I’m not in Doublets bonus land), and there’s a pawn of another player on a safety space four spaces in front of me, but the space 8 spaces in front is open, may I move my pawn the full 8, or must it be treated as a four and a four, and I therefore cannot move that pawn?

Rules say that if you roll a 4 and a 3, you can mover one pawn EITHER 4+3 Or 3+4. Why would they say that instead of just saying 7?

  • 2
    Seems like you've answered this yourself.
    – Zeiss Ikon
    Commented Feb 8, 2021 at 19:38
  • I don’t think theater paragraph answers the question. It’s unclear if “move 4+3” is intended to have the same effect as “move 7” or not… it might be the same but it also could mean “move 4 and then move 3”.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Dec 27, 2021 at 5:03

1 Answer 1


There are multiple published versions of Parcheesi and thus multiple wordings of rules, but this rulebook makes it clear that yes; you could move a single pawn 8 spaces on a roll of 4 and 4, even if the space 4 ahead is not free:

You may move one or two pawns on your turn. For example, if you roll 4 + 3 you can move one pawn 7 spaces; or you can move one pawn 4 spaces and another pawn 3 spaces.

  • Any feedback on why this was downvoted?
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Dec 30, 2021 at 23:30

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .