3

In the game dominion are you allowed to trash horses with say a card like improve?

On the card it states it is not part of the supply.

Is there any place in the rules that states that you can or can not?

1 Answer 1

6

Yes, you can.

There is nothing about being part of the supply that affects trashing; they are still "cards" and thus are affected by things that talk about cards.

The rules for trashing from the base game rulebook don't say anything that would restrict it to supply cards:

"Trash a card" - Put a card into the Trash pile.

This is a way of getting rid of a card; a trashed card is no longer one of your cards.

"Gaining" is different because of the rules for gaining itself; the rules for "gain a card" include that the card must be from the supply unless specifically said otherwise.

"Gain a card" - Take a card from the Supply and put it into your discard pile.

Sometimes a card will let you gain a card from a place other than the Supply, but by default gained cards come from the Supply.

Now, your specific example of Improve and Horses is tricky because normally you wouldn't have a Horse in play at the start of cleanup; since it returns itself to its pile when you play it. But with things like Ways from Menagerie, there are ways to do it.

4
  • If you simply didn't play the horse wouldn't it just stay in your hand to be disgarded at the end of the turn? Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 4:56
  • @silent-tiger That is covered in your link. there is a note from the designer stating "you don't have to play it; you can Remodel it". So if you don't have to play it then it would be discarded from your hand during clean up Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 13:10
  • 1
    @silent-tiger You could keep a Horse in your hand and then discard it like normal at the end of the turn, but Improve only trashes cards from play; it can't be used to trash cards from your hand.
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 14:54
  • Oh good point, I get it. I also get the ways comment now. Commented Feb 9, 2021 at 23:41

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .