I've read through the rule book and don't see this specific situation mentioned.

If you roll doubles and land on a Community Chest square, and the card draw is a Go To Jail card, are you able to roll again to try to get out of jail?

1 Answer 1


When you end up in jail your turn ends and you have 3 turns to roll doubles to get out of jail or pay the $50 fee. The turn ending doesn't matter if you had additional dice rolls due to getting doubles.

I bolded the section in the rules that talks about turns ending.


“JAIL”… You land in Jail when… (1) your token lands on the space marked “Go to Jail”; (2) you draw a card marked “Go to Jail”; or (3) you throw doubles three times in succession. When you are sent to Jail you cannot collect your $200 salary in that move since, regardless of where your token is on the board, you must move it directly into Jail. Yours turn ends when you are sent to Jail. If you are not “sent” to Jail but in the ordinary course of play land on that space, you are “Just Visiting,” you incur no penalty, and you move ahead in the usual manner on your next turn. You get out of Jail by… (1) throwing doubles on any of your next three turns; if you succeed in doing this you immediately move forward the number of spaces shown by your doubles throw; even though you had thrown doubles, you do not take another turn; (2) using the “Get Out of Jail Free” card if you have it; (3) purchasing the “Get Out of Jail Free” card from another player and playing it; (4) paying a fine of $50 before you roll the dice on either of your next two turns. If you do not throw doubles by your third turn, you must pay the $50 fine. You then get out of Jail and immediately move forward the number of spaces shown by your throw. Even though you are in Jail, you may buy and sell property, buy and sell houses and hotels and collect rents

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .