0

In Magic: The Gathering, let's say you have out Ormos, Archive Keeper as well as Psychosis Crawler and you're down to an empty library. Something allows you to attempt to draw a card from the empty library and you trigger Ormos's ability, but what about Psychosis Crawler? I would guess since no card is literally being drawn, Psychosis Crawler's ability wouldn't trigger, but I wonder if the act of drawing in the first place would trigger it anyways, regardless of whether a card was taken to hand from the library or not.

3

Psychosis crawler would not trigger.

This is, in part, because Psychosis Crawler has a triggered ability and Ormos, Archive Keeper's ability is a replacement effect, and one that prevents the default action of drawing a card from happening. Replacement effects like Ormos's are explained in the Comprehensive Rules:

614.1a Effects that use the word "instead" are replacement effects. Most replacement effects use the word "instead" to indicate what events will be replaced with other events.

Because Ormos is one of the replacement effects that completely replaces the original event, it never happens, and anything that was looking for that event doesn't trigger:

614.6 If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’t be carried out, in which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.

In addition to this, Psychosis Crawler isn't looking for an effect to tell you to draw a card, it's looking for the actual effect of drawing a card. If you had some effect that prevented a game loss for drawing from an empty library, like Platinum Angel you still have not drawn any cards, so the trigger conditions on Psychosis Crawler have not been met.

Think of it similarly to how Teferi's Ageless Insight interacts with Psychosis Crawler but in reverse. When you draw two cards you've still got a single event making you draw those cards, that event just had a replacement effect making you draw an additional card. Psychosis Crawler will trigger twice since two cards were drawn, if replacing 1 draw with 0 cards drawn still triggered Crawler once, replacing 1 card drawn with 2 would do the same.

1

You do not draw a card in this case so nothing happens from the Psychosis Crawler because the Ormos, Archive Keeper keeps you from drawing from an empty library which would cause you to lose the game.

If you would draw a card while your library has no cards in it, instead put five +1/+1 counters on Ormos, Archive Keeper.

If you look at what it says it is replacing the draw with something else.

If there are multiple replacement effects on the stack you chose which the order they happen according to a ruling on the

If two or more replacement effects would apply to a card-drawing event, the player drawing the card chooses the order in which to apply them.

The rules also state that a replaced event never happens.

614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities. Note that the modified event may contain instructions that can’t be carried out, in which case the impossible instruction is simply ignored.

12
  • I'm familiar with what the cards read, the concern I had was if the triggered abilities would see the attempt at card-drawing at the same time, then I'd have to resolve both if both would be happening or not. I suppose the replacement effect doesn't allow for Psychosis Crawler to see the card-draw attempt at all then. Feb 16 at 3:22
  • 1
    @ProtoplasmicWarrior No, after you apply the first replacement effect, other ones are only accounted for if the event they are replacing still happens. So if you had Ormos and Thought Reflection, if you chose to apply Ormos first, then Thought Reflection wouldn't do anything because you aren't drawing a card. If you chose to apply Thought Reflection first, then Ormos would have 2 card draws to replace with counter-gaining.
    – GendoIkari
    Feb 16 at 4:30
  • 2
    614.6 would be a good addition to this answer. "614.6. If an event is replaced, it never happens. A modified event occurs instead, which may in turn trigger abilities."
    – GendoIkari
    Feb 16 at 4:31
  • 1
    That doesn’t work because Psychosis Crawler is a triggered ability, while the others are replacement effects. Triggered abilities only happen after the triggering event actually happens. Replacement effects do not trigger, they simply cause something to happen instead of something else. Psychosis Crawler will never trigger unless a card is actually drawn; it only cares about what happened, not what could have happened.
    – GendoIkari
    Feb 16 at 5:27
  • 1
    Note that even with a Platinum Angel instead of any replacement effects, with an empty library you still don't draw any cards, and no "Whenever you draw a card" effects will trigger.
    – Arthur
    Feb 16 at 9:50

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.