Is the following allowed?
Player A: holds up two woods and says "I will take any one resource for two woods"
Player B: Gives him a wood for his two woods.
Player A: tries to say he meant any resource besides wood since this trade is not allowed.
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this communityIs the following allowed?
Player A: holds up two woods and says "I will take any one resource for two woods"
Player B: Gives him a wood for his two woods.
Player A: tries to say he meant any resource besides wood since this trade is not allowed.
There are multiple issues with the way this played out.
First of all, trading 2 wood for 1 wood is not a legal trade, as outlined in the rulebook:
You may not trade like resources (e.g., 2 wool for 1 wool).
But aside from that, simply stating "I will take any (1) resource for (2) woods" is not actually making a trade, it is simply proposing a general offer. Once players respond to that offer, there can be negotiation and then eventually an actual trade is made.
In this case, Player B doesn't just "give him 1 wood", rather player B would say "ok, how about 1 wood?" at which point Player A can say "no, what else you got?"
It is important to distinguish between "proposing a trade" and "making a trade". I can say "I will give a sheep for a wood", but if the only player willing to do it is someone who has 9 points so I don't want to trade with them, I don't have to trade with them. I can always just say "sorry, not trading with you". Making statements about what sort of trade you want is not a binding agreement; the actual agreement comes when 2 different players say "ok" to a specific set of resources exchanging with other resources.