Is the following allowed?

Player A: holds up two woods and says "I will take any one resource for two woods"

Player B: Gives him a wood for his two woods.

Player A: tries to say he meant any resource besides wood since this trade is not allowed.

  • 4
    Does this answer your question? Giving cards away in Catan
    – Null
    Apr 6, 2021 at 12:11
  • 4
    Not only is it illegal, but Player A could have just rejected the trade. Just because you offer a trade suggestion doesn't mean you have to ultimately make the trade.
    – Null
    Apr 6, 2021 at 12:11
  • 2
    I think there are 2 separate things going on in this scenario, and only 1 of them is covered by the linked duplicate.
    – GendoIkari
    Apr 6, 2021 at 13:56
  • 1
    I don't see this as a duplicate, the questioner doesn't appear to be attempting to give away resources.
    – Pat Ludwig
    Apr 7, 2021 at 19:14
  • 1
    @PatLudwig, the (only) answer to "Giving cards away..." states the rule that like-for-like trades are not allowed. But if that's not enough, there's also Is it legal to trade 1 wood for 1 wood + 1 hay? (Both are marked as a duplicates of the very same question.)
    – ilkkachu
    Apr 7, 2021 at 19:25

1 Answer 1


There are multiple issues with the way this played out.

First of all, trading 2 wood for 1 wood is not a legal trade, as outlined in the rulebook:

You may not trade like resources (e.g., 2 wool for 1 wool).

But aside from that, simply stating "I will take any (1) resource for (2) woods" is not actually making a trade, it is simply proposing a general offer. Once players respond to that offer, there can be negotiation and then eventually an actual trade is made.

In this case, Player B doesn't just "give him 1 wood", rather player B would say "ok, how about 1 wood?" at which point Player A can say "no, what else you got?"

It is important to distinguish between "proposing a trade" and "making a trade". I can say "I will give a sheep for a wood", but if the only player willing to do it is someone who has 9 points so I don't want to trade with them, I don't have to trade with them. I can always just say "sorry, not trading with you". Making statements about what sort of trade you want is not a binding agreement; the actual agreement comes when 2 different players say "ok" to a specific set of resources exchanging with other resources.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .