0

When one plays Essence Scatter, does the target creature go back to the opponent's hand, or does it go to their graveyard?

1
  • 2
    Note: a "creature spell" is a spell that is on the stack and has not yet resolved. Once a creature is on the battlefield it is a creature. – John Apr 16 at 17:22
4

Essence Scatter counters a creature spell, and countering a spell is defined in the Comprehensive Rules 701.5a:

To counter a spell or ability means to cancel it, removing it from the stack. It doesn’t resolve and none of its effects occur. A countered spell is put into its owner’s graveyard.

Note that technically there is never a creature in this case: a spell becomes a creature only when it enters the battlefield.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.