2

Something I wondered about Killian, Ink Duelist was how this card's cost-reduction ability interacted with spells that interact with creature cards or spells and not creature permanents.

Spells like Empyrial Armor and Crib Swap can both target a creature permanent on the battlefield which allows these spells to cost less to cast if Killian is on the battlefield under your control while casting and targeting a creature with those spells.

However, something like Animate Dead targets a "creature card in a graveyard," so is it implied that with Killian on the battlefield under your control, Animate Dead costs less to cast because it targets a "creature" anyway?

How would Killian interact with Venser, Shaper Savant regarding returning a target spell to its owner's hand if the spell targeted is a creature spell?

Does a spell targeting a creature not have to be a permanent on the battlefield for the spell to cost less with Killian out?

6

Killian's ability only affects spells targeting creature permanents.

Rule 109.2 says

If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesn’t include the word “card,” “spell,” “source,” or “scheme,” it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.

Killian's ability refers to "creatures", which is a card type, without using any of the specified words, so it means creature permanents.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.