3

If I play Transmute Artifact, do I have to put mana into my mana pool before Transmute Artifact resolves, or can I tap my lands during Transmute artifact resolving?

5

You can activate mana abilities whenever you are asked to pay a cost, including during the resolution of a spell or ability. You can, but don't have to activate them beforehand.

605.3. Activating an activated mana ability follows the rules for activating any other activated ability (see rule 602.2), with the following exceptions:

605.3a A player may activate an activated mana ability whenever they have priority, whenever they are casting a spell or activating an ability that requires a mana payment, or whenever a rule or effect asks for a mana payment, even if it’s in the middle of casting or resolving a spell or activating or resolving an ability.

3
  • 1
    "Rulings 05/02/2021 Birgi’s first ability uses the stack and can be responded to. It isn’t a mana ability." – Michał Politowski Jun 4 at 19:16
  • 1
    More generally, a triggered ability can only be a mana ability if it is triggered by another mana ability, or by mana being added to the mana pool (605.1b) – murgatroid99 Jun 4 at 19:37
  • Thanks, removed that part – Hackworth Jun 4 at 20:45

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.