5

I played AFR draft on MTG Arena last night and encountered something that doesn't make sense to me.

My opponent had a Zombie Ogre with a +1/+1 counter and a Death-Priest of Myrkul in play. I had a Targ Nar, Demon-Fang Gnoll and a Tiger-Tribe Hunter.

In my precombat main phase, I doubled Targ Nar's power and toughness twice, making it an 8/8. I declared both of my creatures as attackers and sacrificed him to Tiger-Tribe Hunter's triggered ability (targeting Zombie Ogre). Only 2 damage got applied to Zombie Ogre, but I was expecting it to be lethal.

Any insight would be appreciated!

1
  • 1
    FWIW: The latest update for JumpStart Horizons has a reputation as being quite buggy.
    – John
    Aug 30 at 14:04
8

That is a bug. It should deal 8 damage.

Tiger-Tribe Hunter has a ruling that says

Use the sacrificed creature's power as it last existed on the battlefield to determine how much damage is dealt.

Targ Nar's power was 8 when it was last on the battlefield, so the Tiger-Tribe Hunter should deal 8 damage.

This problem with Tiger-Tribe Hunter has been reported as a bug by several other people on the official Magic: Arena bug reporting website.

0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.