-2

Rules:

If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you may take any one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability when a "7" is rolled.

But is this right or duty? May I not use this ability and not take a resource? For example, I have seven cards in my hand and I don't want to have more?

New contributor
Denis Anisimov is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.
4

'May' is optional

It is pretty much universal among board games that if the game says you 'may' take an action, that action is optional. If the word 'may' is not present, the action is usually mandatory.

If, when the dice are rolled for production, you do not receive any resources or commodities, you MAY take any one resource of your choice from the bank. You may not, however, use this ability when a "7" is rolled.

Emphasis mine.

1

Your Answer

Denis Anisimov is a new contributor. Be nice, and check out our Code of Conduct.

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.