7

If the blank tile is on a triple word tile while you are making a word, does it still count as a triple word?

3
  • 10
    @ava, a blank tile still scores 0, even on a DW or TW square.
    – The Photon
    Oct 5 '21 at 18:15
  • @ava - from the same official rules quoted in my answer, rule number 1 "Use a score pad or piece of paper to keep a tally of each player's score, entering it after each turn. The score value of each letter is indicated by a number at the bottom of the tile. The score value of a blank is zero." It's not a 1 point tile.
    – Andrew
    Oct 6 '21 at 3:14
  • 2
    The key strategic point is that while a blank gets zero points directly, it can be used to enable getting many points indirectly, by creating a longer word that hits a double or triple, by enabling use of a high-point letter (J,K,Q,X,Z) or by helping to create a Bingo (+50). Oct 6 '21 at 14:13
17

Yes. It doesn't matter which tile is on the double/triple word space, if you make a word while placing a blank tile on one of these squares, your word score is still doubled/tripled. From the official rules of Scrabble:

  1. Premium Word Squares: The score for an entire word is doubled when one of its letters is placed on a pink square: it is tripled when one of its letters is placed on a red square. Include premiums for double or triple letter values, if any, before doubling or tripling the word score. If a word is formed that covers two premium word squares, the score is doubled and then re-doubled (4 times the letter count), or tripled and then re-tripled (9 times the letter count). NOTE: the center square is a pink square, which doubles the score for the first word.

  2. Letter and word premiums count only on the turn in which they are played. On later turns, letters already played on premium squares count at face value.

  3. When a blank tile is played on a pink or red square, the value of the word is doubled or tripled, even though the blank itself has no score value.

Technically even on a double/triple letter score, the value of that blank tile is still doubled/tripled as well, however since the value of the tile is 0, doubling or tripling it does nothing.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.