0

What happens when you play a kings court on a tragic hero?

Does it go like this: Lets say your hand is 3 coppers, a kings court and a tragic hero.

  1. Play the kings court
  2. Select the tragic hero
  3. (Play tragic hero first time) Pick up 3 cards (now have 6 cards in hand)
  4. (Play tragic hero second time) Pick up 3 cards (now have 9 cards in hand)
  5. Tragic hero gets trashed for say a gold
  6. (Play tragic hero third time) The effect fizzles as the tragic hero has been trashed.

Is the above correct?

1
  • 3
    The classic version of this is Throne Room and Feast, which was addressed in the original FAQ: If you use Throne Room on Feast, you will gain two cards, even though you can only trash Feast once. dominioncg.fandom.com/wiki/Feast Commented Oct 28, 2021 at 14:44

1 Answer 1

4

Not quite. Effects only fail if their conditions can't be met - for example, if Tragic Hero had said "Trash this to gain a Treasure"[1], then that wouldn't activate. However, instead, it goes like this:

Play a King's Court from your hand
- Select Tragic Hero to play 3 times
- Play Tragic Hero 1st time
  - Draw 3 cards
  - Get +1 Buy
- Play Tragic Hero 2nd time
  - Draw 3 cards
  - Get +1 Buy
  - You have more than 8 cards in hand
    - Trash Tragic Hero
    - Gain a Treasure
- Play Tragic Hero 3rd time
  - Draw 3 cards
  - Get +1 Buy
  - You have more than 8 cards in hand
    - Try to trash Tragic Hero, but you can't (it's no longer in play)[2]
    - Gain a Treasure

[1] "Do X to do Y." in Dominion is equivalent to "Do X. If you did, do Y." so you must do X if possible, but you only do Y if you successfully did X. "You may do X to do Y." is the same except that you choose whether to do X, then you do Y if you did X successfully.

[2] This is the Stop-Moving rule. Tragic Hero's effect comes from being played, so it expects to find itself in play. It isn't in play, so it can't trash itself.

1
  • 3
    Note that the rules are being updated slightly to say that you can’t play a card that wouldn’t be able to be put into play; but it doesn’t affect Throne Room or King’s Court because the new rule says that a card can play a card multiple times if the first play succeeds. forum.dominionstrategy.com/…
    – GendoIkari
    Commented Oct 28, 2021 at 23:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .