4

Harvest Hand reads "When Harvest Hand dies, return it to the battlefield transformed under your control."

If a creature copying Harvest Hand died, it wouldn't be able to transform when the dies trigger resolves because it has no back side. Would it re-enter the battlefield on its front side or not at all?

7

If a creature copying Harvest Hand dies, it stays in the graveyard.

Rule 702.10a says

If a spell or ability puts a transforming double-faced card onto the battlefield “transformed,” it enters the battlefield with its back face up. If a player is instructed to put a card that isn’t a transforming double-faced card onto the battlefield transformed, that card stays in its current zone.

The ability resolves while the card that was copying the Harvest Hand is in the graveyard, so the card stays in the graveyard.

1
  • 9
    Unless the card copying Harvest Hand is a transforming DFC, in which case it will return to the battlefield transformed into whatever its backside is. Nov 5 at 3:56

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.