5

If I have two Skinshifters in play, can I use the ability of one to affect the other? For instance, if one of my Skinshifters has Ice Cage on it, can I use the other Skinshifter's ability to morph the "caged" one, thereby breaking the Ice Cage?

0
12

No, you can't.

Breaking an Ice Cage on a Skinshifter with another Skinshifter's ability won't work for 2 reasons:

First and most straightforward, the Skinshifter's ability does not require a target, and Ice Cage requires the enchanted creature to be targeted by a spell or ability for it to break.

Second, you can use Skinshifter's ability only to change itself, not another Skinshifter.

If a card says "Something happens to CARD NAME", then this always references the card this text is printed on, unless explicitly stated otherwise. If a card references another card by name, the syntax is always something like "A card/creature named XY", for example like Llanowar Sentinel, or Angel's Herald.

The rules for that is this:

201.4. Text that refers to the object it's on by name means just that particular object and not any other objects with that name, regardless of any name changes caused by game effects.

3
  • 3
    I would have switched your order. While the first rule you listed may be the most straightforward, the second is the most important. ;)
    – ghoppe
    Dec 8 '11 at 15:45
  • thanks guys. Just getting back into it, and the rules have gotten a bit more complicated.
    – travis
    Dec 8 '11 at 19:08
  • 2
    AFAIK, the "Text that refers to the object it's on by name" rule has been around since the beginning of the game.
    – adamjford
    Dec 9 '11 at 17:21

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.