2

Leaf-Crowned Elder has:

Kinship — At the beginning of your upkeep, you may look at the top card of your library. If it shares a creature type with Leaf-Crowned Elder, you may reveal it. If you do, you may play that card without paying its mana cost.

Leaf-Crowned Elder is a Treefolk Shaman. Does it allow me to cast Rootgrapple, a Tribal Instant — Treefolk, from the top of my deck?

I wouldn't have this doubt if it said subtype instead of creature type (in this case I'd know I can).

6

Yes, Leaf-Crowned Elder's ability allows you to cast Rootgrapple.

The term "creature type" is defined in rule 302.3:

Creature subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Creature — Human Soldier,” “Artifact Creature — Golem,” and so on. Creature subtypes are also called creature types. Creatures may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3m for the complete list of creature types.

So, when Leaf-Crowned Elder's ability says "creature types", it is referring to creature subtypes.

In addition, rule 308.2 explicitly states that tribal subtypes are the same as creature subtypes.

Tribal subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Tribal Enchantment — Merfolk.” The set of tribal subtypes is the same as the set of creature subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types. Tribals may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3m for the complete list of creature types.

3
  • Thank you. By the way, if Elder's rules text had "card subtype" written instead of "creature type", would it be the same?
    – Pedro A
    Dec 12 '21 at 23:07
  • 1
    That kind of thing would just say "subtype", and it would work a little differently if you had a creature that was also another type, like artifact. Then it would allow you to cast non-creature artifacts with the same artifact subtype as that artifact creature. For example , if you controlled a Gingerbrute, that alternate ability would allow you to cast Golden Egg.
    – murgatroid99
    Dec 12 '21 at 23:09
  • Awesome, thank you very much!!
    – Pedro A
    Dec 12 '21 at 23:11

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.