Let's say I have a Doomed Dissenter on the battlefield.

When Doomed Dissenter dies, create a 2/2 black Zombie creature token.

Then I play Lord of Tresserhorn.

When Lord of Tresserhorn enters the battlefield, you lose 2 life, you sacrifice two creatures, and target opponent draws two cards.

For the two creatures I must sacrifice, can I choose Doomed Dissenter, and then the Zombie token it creates? Do I need to choose two creatures that are on the battlefield before either one dies?


1 Answer 1


No, you cannot.

The token is not created immediately; the triggered ability has to go on the stack and then resolve first. And it isn’t even placed on the stack until after you finish resolving the Tresserhorn enter-the-battlefield ability.

  1. Handling Triggered Abilities

603.2. Whenever a game event or game state matches a triggered ability’s trigger event, that ability automatically triggers. The ability doesn’t do anything at this point.

603.3. Once an ability has triggered, its controller puts it on the stack as an object that’s not a card the next time a player would receive priority.

So the 2/2 black Zombie creature token is not created until well after both the creatures have been sacrificed for Lord of Tresserhorn.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .