In Magic, most cards that interact with a specific card will target it. For example, Giant Growth (emphasis is mine):
Target creature gets +3/+3 until end of turn.
There are lots of rules around targeting, and even abilities that interact with targeting, like hexproof and shroud. Some cards sidestep these rules by having you "choose" a permanent without targeting it. Of note, these cards can still effect creatures with shroud or hexproof. For example, Azra Oddsmaker (emphasis is mine):
At the beginning of combat on your turn, you may discard a card. If you do, choose a creature. Whenever that creature deals combat damage to a player this turn, you draw two cards.
Additionally, the rules for targeting explicitly mention that targeting involves choosing:
115.1. Some spells and abilities require their controller to choose one or more targets for them.
So far, it seems like there are two intentionally different modes of selecting what a spell effects:
- Targeting (which implies choosing)
- Choosing without targeting.
But then there are cards that say "choose target". For example, Moonlight Hunt (emphasis is mine):
Choose target creature you don’t control. Each creature you control that’s a Wolf or a Werewolf deals damage equal to its power to that creature.
What is the purpose of the wording "choose target"? Targeting already involves choosing, so why the double reference?