4

Bell Borca, Spectral Sergeant enters the battlefield as a 0/5, and gets power when something gets exiled. Does the power hold till the next of the controller's upkeep, or does it get reset to a 0/5 each upkeep?

1 Answer 1

12

Bell Borca, Spectral Sergeant's power is equal to the greatest number noted for it this turn.

(emphasis mine)

So its power gets reset every upkeep (well, actually somewhat earlier, there is an untap step happen before the upkeep), not just its controller's. The reset happens as soon as the turn begins, so Meekstone has no effect on Bell Borca (unless, of course, it has a permanent power buff because of e.g. an equipment).

12
  • 11
    With all due respect, your judges need to go back to judge school then. This is not a particularly complicated ruling, and is even covered on Gatherer: "before any cards are noted for it each turn, Bell Borca’s power is 0." Jan 19 at 20:44
  • 2
    A small follow up question: Does the power reset happen before or after untapping your permanents? That would be relevant for Meekstone for example Jan 20 at 9:55
  • 1
    @IvoBeckers good question, answer updated
    – Glorfindel
    Jan 20 at 9:58
  • 2
    @Andrew not sure ... the cleanup step is for 'until end of turn' things. This has a slightly different wording (perhaps because it's a characteristic defining ability?)
    – Glorfindel
    Jan 20 at 14:37
  • 1
    @Glorfindel The cleanup step is also for "this turn" effects (CR 514.2: "all “until end of turn” and “this turn” effects end.") so I think it power gets reset to zero at that point. That does give the small window for something to happen if something else put a trigger on the stack in the cleanup step. Jan 22 at 9:16

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .