I must attack an adjacent territory.

Do I have to attack with troops from an adjacent territory, or can I use troops from a non adjacent territory?

  • As a new user I'd appreciate reasoning behind the downvote? I was playing risk with my kids and my 11 yr old had interpreted the rules this way. Let me know what I did wrong so I don't do it again? Thanks. Commented Feb 3, 2022 at 17:29

2 Answers 2


You attack from one territory into another. You may only use the troops in the territory you are attacking from in that attack.


Andrew is correct - you attack from one territory into another. From the official rules:

You must always have at least two armies in the territory you're attacking from.


TO Attack. First announce both the territory you're attacking and the one you're attacking from. Then roll the dice against the opponent who occupies the opposing territory.

(emphasis mine)

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .