1

Ranar the Ever-Watchful has the ability

Whenever one or more cards are put into exile from your hand or a spell or ability you control exiles one or more permanents from the battlefield, create a 1/1 white Spirit creature token with flying.

If I have Ranar on the battlefield with N creatures and play Day of the Dragons:

When Day of the Dragons enters the battlefield, exile all creatures you control. Then create that many 5/5 red Dragon creature tokens with flying.

Will I get the tokens for Ranar's ability and all creatures turned to dragons and end up with N 5/5 dragons and N 1/1 white spirits?

0

2 Answers 2

5

You will end up with N 5/5 dragons and 1 1/1 spirit.

Ranar's ability can look back in time to see how many things were exiled with Day of the Dragons:

603.10a Some zone-change triggers look back in time. These are leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a card leaves a graveyard, and abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library.

So Ranar's ability will see N creatures get exiled. However it won't create N spirits because Ranar's ability is worded (emphasis mine)

Whenever ... a spell or ability you control exiles one or more permanents from the battlefield, create a 1/1 white Spirit

To create multiple spirits Ranar's ability would have to not have the "one or more" clause in it.

1

Becuzz's answer is mostly correct, but I want to address where they explain the number of spirits:

To create multiple spirits Ranar's ability would have to not have the "one or more" clause in it.

This part isn't exactly right, there are two wordings that would have created N spirits:

  1. Whenever ... a spell or ability you control exiles a permanent from the battlefield, create a 1/1 white Spirit
  2. Whenever ... a spell or ability you control exiles one or more permanents from the battlefield, create that many 1/1 white Spirits

1 is the version that Becuzz mentions in their answer, this would mean Ranar triggers once for each permanent being exiled, with each trigger creating one 1/1 spirit token. 2 on the other hand triggers only once, but creates multiple tokens from the single triggered ability on the stack. This difference can matter in a few ways, mostly in countering (one trigger versus many triggers) and other effects that watch for "one or more" creatures entering.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .