I think I know the answer to the problem but I have some doubts and I need confirmation or an explanation to which I can point when this happens again.

I have the following scenario in Dominion Nocturne.

The following to 2 cards are in the game:

  • Pixie
    • +1 Card / +1 Action / Discard the top Boon. You may trash this to receive that Boon twice.
    • pixie
  • Necromancer
    • Play a face up, non-Duration Action card from the trash, leaving it there and turning it face down for the turn.
    • necromancer

in a previous turn, one of the players played and trashed Pixie. So now there is a pixie in the trash.

In my turn, I play Necromancer which allows me to play a card from the trash. I choose to play "Pixie".
Now the question. Can I trash the trashed pixie to receive the next boon twice? or I just get the "1 card 1 action" and I discard the top boon?

Based on what Adama wrote as an answer on a different question ....

The golden rule in Dominion is follow the card instructions as much as possible. [...] However, you may not be able to execute some conditional effects, e.g., trash the card

I conclude that I cannot trash an already trashed card, but there is a chance I got this wrong. So...which is it? can I or I cannot trash a trashed card?

  • I might post an answer later, but Dominion Strategy Wiki addresses this exact combo here. Since Pixie checks that it was trashed, it wasn’t so you wont get the boon. Jun 7, 2022 at 8:38
  • I read that sentence but I did not make much sense. The wording on it is not the "happiest" specially for a non native English speaker (or at least for me).
    – Marius
    Jun 7, 2022 at 11:20

2 Answers 2


From http://wiki.dominionstrategy.com/index.php/Stop-Moving_rule#Official_Rules:

  • If a card isn't where the effect would expect it to be, or has moved away from there and then back, it can't move the card.

    • Played cards expect to be in play; they can't move themselves if they aren't.

Because the Pixie is not in play, it cannot trash itself (and you cannot get the Boon).


The definition of trashing is to put a card into the Trash pile. Necromancer states: leaving it there. That means, you can't trash the card since it is never yours/ in your hand.

  • this is what I suspected.
    – Marius
    Jun 7, 2022 at 12:24
  • Being "in your hand" is irrelevant: if the Pixie is played by March, it can be trashed.
    – m90
    Jun 7, 2022 at 14:21
  • That is why I wrote yours. March is using the discard pile and not the trash pile
    – Zibelas
    Jun 7, 2022 at 14:48
  • Honestly wish you could trash the Necromancer to do the effect
    – Styxsksu
    May 16, 2023 at 15:25

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .