5

I was going through my cards as I worked on a Myrkul, Lord of Bones commander deck and saw my Palisade Giant. Does the giant's effect:

All damage that would be dealt to you and other permanents you control is dealt to Palisade Giant instead.

work if it has been turned into an enchantment by Myrkul?

Whenever another nontoken creature you control dies, you may exile it. If you do, create a token that’s a copy of that card, except it’s an enchantment and loses all other card types.

New contributor
Jesse Davies is a new contributor to this site. Take care in asking for clarification, commenting, and answering. Check out our Code of Conduct.

1 Answer 1

8

No, Palisade Giant's damage redirection effect will not work if it is not a creature.

614.9. Some effects replace damage dealt to one creature, planeswalker, or player with the same damage dealt to another creature, planeswalker, or player; such effects are called redirection effects. If either creature or planeswalker is no longer on the battlefield when the damage would be redirected, or is no longer a creature or planeswalker when the damage would be redirected, the effect does nothing. If damage would be redirected to or from a player who has left the game, the effect does nothing.

This stems from a more general rule:

120.1a Damage can’t be dealt to an object that’s neither a creature nor a planeswalker.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .