Let's use Tuinvale Treefolk as the creature for this example as it has no abilities on its creature side.

This is relevant for Ruxa, Patient Professor and Muraganda Petroglyphs.

Does the answer change when the creature is in the graveyard? (this is relevant for Ruxa's first ability)

What about in the hand, in case a card existed that let you put a creature with no abilities into the batlefield?

1 Answer 1


Yes, in all cases the creature is considered to have no abilities.

Comprehensive Rules 716.4 states:

In every zone except the stack, and while on the stack not as an Adventure, an adventurer card has only its normal characteristics.

Meaning in the battlefield, graveyard, hand and otherwise the adventure side would be ignored and the creature part has indeed no abilities.

  • 2
    As always, I feel it would be better to reference the actual CR (716.4 in this case) rather than the ruling; Wizards are notorious for the haphazard nature of whether a ruling appears in Gatherer or not. Jul 5, 2022 at 8:55
  • It's 715.4 Jul 5, 2022 at 14:29
  • some list it as 716.4, like mtg.wtf/help/rules and the mtg fandom page but the downloadable document form wizards has it as 715.4
    – Chebi
    Jul 5, 2022 at 14:41
  • 1
    @Chebi You're linking to last year's rules (19th April 2021, as per the 20210419 in the URL). In the most recent rules, CR 715 is Sagas. Jul 5, 2022 at 14:55
  • 1
    [ Not that it really matters but the rule that was added was "706 Rolling a die", probably as part of the AFR update; everything above that was renumbered ] Jul 5, 2022 at 15:01

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .