7

Inspired by the new card You Are Already Dead.

There's a combo deck that wins with Thassa's Oracle, then playing Spoils of the Vault in response to the Oracle's trigger to exile their entire library. The win is deterministic - once Spoils resolves the game is over. Opponent probably won't concede though, since they get to see what else is in the deck for sideboarding equity.

One consequence of this is that when naming a card with Spoils of the Vault, it's become rather common to name You Are Already Dead, since the opponent really is "already dead". It's a way to poke fun at them and/or to tilt them.

Question: are you allowed to name even more stupid, non-existent card names like "I'm Still At 20 Lol" or "Your Wife Is Cheating On You" to tilt them even more?

NB: for the combo to work, one needs to name a card not in the deck. You Are Already Dead is such a card, and other silly card names won't be in the deck either.

9
  • 6
    Technically the opponent can stifle the oracle trigger after spoils resolves, so it isn't a deterministic kill in many formats. E.g. Overcharged Amalgam can do it in (2022) standard
    – Caleth
    Jul 22, 2022 at 10:32
  • awwww would've been a great loophole like vertical castling
    – BCLC
    Jul 22, 2022 at 10:39
  • 2
    Am I missing something? It seems like this combo kills you before you get a chance to win the game. Jul 22, 2022 at 13:47
  • 1
    @Caleth: Spoils is the part that would kill you. You lose 1 life for each exiled card, so you need some way to survive that. Jul 22, 2022 at 22:21
  • 2
    As an aside, the very similar Demonic Consultation/Oracle combo in Vintage used Abandon Hope for this purpose before You Are Already Dead was printed. Jul 22, 2022 at 23:21

1 Answer 1

15

You have to name a card that exists.

201.4. If an effect instructs a player to choose a card name, the player must choose the name of a cardin the Oracle card reference. (See rule 108.1.) A player may not choose the name of a token unless it’ s also the name of a card.

For further explanation of what may or may not be named, here's a rather comprehensive article on magicjudges.com on the subject.

5
  • What if the card exists, but just not in your deck? That's all this exploit requires. You could just pick something common and obvious like "Forest" if you know there's no green in your deck... Jul 22, 2022 at 19:04
  • 2
    @DarrelHoffman the combo as described names a card not in the deck. That isn't in question
    – Caleth
    Jul 22, 2022 at 22:02
  • This is 201.4 in the latest CRs; whatever site you are using for your rules reference is out of date. Jul 22, 2022 at 23:18
  • Thanks for the note @PhilipKendall, I actually got it from blogs.magicjudges.org/rules/cr201 Jul 23, 2022 at 0:10
  • @DarrelHoffman a ruling for Spoils of the Vault is "You don't have to choose the name of a card that's still in your library, or even a card that's in your deck at all. If no card with the chosen name is in your library, you exile your library and lose 1 life for each of those cards." gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/…
    – Lan
    Jul 25, 2022 at 14:30

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .