2

If Drach'Nyen exiles a commander and it is put into command zone, does it still get bonus power? I think it is the same as with Mimic vat and it only gives menace then?

1 Answer 1

4

If Drach'Nyen exiles a commander and it is put in the command zone, Drach'Nyen does not give any bonus power, but it does still grant menace.

Drach'Nyen's second ability says

Equipped creature has menace and gets +X/+0, where X is the exiled card's power.

The phrase "the exiled card" can only refer to a card in the exile zone. If the card is not in the exile zone, that part of the ability does not work. This is specified in rule 607.2a:

If an object has an activated or triggered ability printed on it that instructs a player to exile one or more cards and an ability printed on it that refers either to “the exiled cards” or to cards “exiled with [this object],” these abilities are linked. The second ability refers only to cards in the exile zone that were put there as a result of an instruction to exile them in the first ability.

Then rule 107.2 says

If anything needs to use a number that can’t be determined, either as a result or in a calculation, it uses 0 instead.

Since the ability can't find the exiled card, it can't determine the power, so it uses 0 instead. The ability still works and still grants menace.

0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .