3

Do the options in Gix's Command happen individually from each other? Or at the same time? I am particularly interested in the interactions of choice 2 with either 1 or 3.

For example, if both my opponent and me have a pair of 2/2s and I cast Gix's Command choosing options 1 and 2, do I get to put +1/+1 counters on a creature before it is destroyed?

Similarly, if I choose options 2 and 3, do I get to return my creatures to my hand? (I notice that the card does not target and I assume this is why)

1 Answer 1

9

Each option will happen one at a time, in the order it appears on the card. So if you choose 1 and 2, then 1 will happen followed by 2. If you choose 2 and 3, then 2 will happen followed by 3.

So:

  1. Yes, you will get the counters and your 2/2 (now a 4/4) will not be destroyed.
  2. Yes, your creatures will be in your graveyard and can be returned.
  1. Resolving Spells and Abilities

608.2. If the object that’s resolving is an instant spell, a sorcery spell, or an ability, its resolution may involve several steps.

608.2c The controller of the spell or ability follows its instructions in the order written.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .