14

There was a viral tweet by UNO's official twitter page:

enter image description here

This got a lot of backlashes and many people still allow +2 stacking. But is there any official historical evidence to support either side before this tweet?

4
  • 6
    The two seem to be talking past each other. It seems to me that scribb24 describes this situation: 1) Player A plays a Draw 2. 2) Player B draws two cards and loses their turn. 3) Player C (“not the one that drew two”) has a Draw 2 in hand and wants to know if they can play it. The answer by realUNOgame confirms Player B’s actions and says nothing about Player C. (Skimming the replies, I found at least one respondent saying this, but with no answer from realUNOgame.) Dec 20, 2022 at 3:32
  • 2
    @TimPederick I believe the official rules state (emphasis mine): "Every player views his/her cards and tries to match the card in the Discard Pile. You have to match either by the number, color, or the symbol/Action." So if player A plays a green +2 and player B draws and skips their turn, then player C is now allowed to play a red +2 if they happen to have one. I don't see any other way to read that part of the rules.
    – Arthur
    Dec 20, 2022 at 10:00
  • 3
    There's a yellow Twitter check mark now too? I can't keep up with these anymore.... Dec 21, 2022 at 4:37
  • 2
    @Arthur The official rules more explicitly say a Draw Two Card "may only be played on a matching color or on another Draw Two card".
    – NotThatGuy
    Dec 21, 2022 at 13:13

1 Answer 1

29

Draw card stacking is not part of the basic Uno game rules, but it is a house rule used so frequently that Mattel have included it in the bundled rules as a variant called "Progressive Uno".

The Progressive Uno rules are as follows:

Same rules as UNO® card game, except:

  1. When a player plays a Draw Two card, the next player may play another Draw Two card, causing the next player to draw 4 cards.
  2. Same rule applies to Wild Draw Four cards: When a player plays a Wild Draw Four card, the next player may play another Wild Draw Four card, causing the next player to draw 8 cards. The last player to play a consecutive Wild Draw Four card calls the color to continue play. If a Wild Draw Four card is played illegally and the player is challenged, the usual rules apply (See FUNCTIONS OF ACTION CARDS), except that the penalty will increase depending on the number of cards played.
  3. Players can continue to play consecutive Draw Two or Wild Draw Four cards, as long as they have them in their hands. For example, if 4 players in a row played Draw Two cards, the next player (who doesn’t have a Draw Two card) would have to draw 8 cards.
  4. You can only play one Draw Two or Wild Draw Four during your turn, even though you may have multiples of these cards in your hand.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .