My friend has a sorcery that makes it so a creature can't be blocked but I have a creature that has protection from all creatures. If he attacked me with his creature that can't be blocked, does my protection from creatures not nullify that?

  • 4
    Hey! Welcome to B&CG! Please consider editing in the exact cards you are dealing with, just in case it helps our gurus come up with an answer for you.
    – Pat Ludwig
    Jan 7, 2023 at 6:12
  • 1
    @PatLudwig Does it matter? One card has "cannot be blocked", the other has "protection from creatures". It's easy enough to name some cards with these attributes. If there are more attributes in play, then it'd be a different question.
    – Allure
    Jan 8, 2023 at 13:44
  • @Allure Correct, it is easy enough to name them which means it should be easy enough to include them in the question when asking. Knowing exactly which cards the person is asking about can help make sure everyone is on the same page and a correct answer is given.
    – Joe W
    Jan 8, 2023 at 15:42
  • @JoeW I have asked questions like Is Boseiju, who Endures' channel ability blocked by protection from green? without specifying what card it is that is granting Protection from Green, I think requesting the specific cards in this case is unfair.
    – Allure
    Jan 9, 2023 at 5:15
  • 2
    Yeah the actual cards don't matter here; the effect does and it's unambiguously described. Jan 9, 2023 at 19:14

1 Answer 1


No, protection will not do anything in this case.

Protection helps with 4 specific things and nothing else. A creature with protection [from quality] cannot be:

  • Damaged, by sources with that quality (the damage is prevented).
  • Enchanted / Equipped / Fortified, by cards with that quality.
  • Blocked, by creatures with that quality.
  • Targeted, by spells or abilities from sources with that quality.

Although #3, cannot be blocked by, is related to blocking, it does not allow you to block an unblockable creature. Protection does not do anything outside of these things.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .