We have a Elesh Norn, Grand Cenobite in play and another player casts Triumphant Reckoning bringing back a 2/2 creature and an aura giving +1/+1. Can the creature now enter as a 3/3 and will it therefore survive? I couldn't find an answer to this anywhere else.

2 Answers 2


Although Triumphant Reckoning explicitly forbids this interaction, Rise to Glory does allow a player to return a creature then an aura, so the aura could be attached to the creature.

In that case, the 2/2 with an aura giving it +1/+1 would survive. The reason is that creatures with 0 toughness only die when state based actions are checked, which happens after the card has finished resolving. So even though there was a 0/0 on the battlefield, it's still valid for the aura to enchant it.

You could also produce the same interaction with Rise to Glory reanimating a Hangarback Walker and an All That Glitters.

  • exactly what i needed to know! thank you so much
    – Andri
    Jan 12, 2023 at 13:10

No, the aura cannot be attached to that creature, so the creature cannot enter as a 3/3.

Triumphant Reckoning has this ruling on its Gatherer page:

An Aura returning to the battlefield this way can't be attached to anything else entering the battlefield at the same time. If it enchants a permanent, you have to choose one already on the battlefield.

  • Thank you so much! But i read controversial stuff un other sites about this rule. I marked the other question as correct answer because it also answers questions arousing since elesh norn is in play
    – Andri
    Jan 12, 2023 at 13:10

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .