I have a copy of Greven, Predator Captain that says his creature type is Human Warrior. I know that he is a Phyrexian in-lore, and the link says his creature type is Phyrexian Human Warrior. Does this mean that I could use mana generated by The Seedcore's second ability:

{T}: Add one mana of any color. Spend this mana only to cast Phyrexian creature spells.

to cast Greven, even though the card itself does not give him the Phyrexian sub-type?

1 Answer 1


Yes, Greven, Predator Captain is Phyrexian, so you can cast him using mana generated by The Seedcore.

Rule 108.1 says

Use the Oracle card reference when determining a card’s wording. A card’s Oracle text can be found using the Gatherer card database at Gatherer.Wizards.com.

The link Greven, Predator Captain shows the most official and up-to-date information about the card's text. That page says that the card is Phyrexian, so it is.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .