8

Weve just started playing this as a group and have a question on victory point cards.

One person was on 8 points but had two cards that state:

1 Victory Point.

Reveal this card on your turn if, with it, you reach the number of points required for victory

Can the two cards be played together? I feel "no" as going from 8 points to 9 points isn't victory, only from 9 points to 10 points.

0

1 Answer 1

14

In the Catan Rules on page 5 it says:

Playing Development Cards:
At any time during your turn, you may play 1 development
card (put it face up on the table). That card, however, may not
be a card you bought during the same turn (except for a victory
point card, as described below)!

Victory Point Cards (Orange Frame):
You must keep victory point cards hidden.
You may only reveal them during your turn
and when you are sure that you have 10
victory points—that is, to win the game. Of
course, you can reveal them after the end of
the game if someone else wins. You may play
any number of victory point cards during your
turn, even during the turn you purchase them.

So following these rules, not only can you play multiple Victory Point Cards, you MUST play them together in order to achieve 10 victory points.
All other type of Development Cards you can only play once per turn.

6
  • 3
    You don't have to. It says "you may reveal", which leaves open the option of not using them for winning. The opposite would be really hard to monitor or enforce anyway.
    – ilkkachu
    Commented Apr 4, 2023 at 6:38
  • @ilkkachu I meant that you can not play one in one turn and then the next turn the other one. If you play multiple VP cards you have to use them together.
    – J_rite
    Commented Apr 4, 2023 at 6:58
  • 1
    yes, you don't play them one by one. But you also don't HAVE to play them the moment you will get 10 points. You can just choose not to play them (or just miscount, or forget or so).
    – ilkkachu
    Commented Apr 4, 2023 at 7:03
  • 6
    uh in english "may only" means that you cannot do it at any other point.
    – paul23
    Commented Apr 4, 2023 at 9:40
  • @paul23: The rules give an option to reveal them after another player victory. So, if you play them, you may only play them to win the game. And if you haven't played them when another player reaches 10 VP, you can still reveal them and have them counted. Commented Apr 4, 2023 at 15:03

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .