4

Scenario:

  1. I put 9 black mana into my mana pool
  2. I cast Massacre Wurm
  3. I cast Sudden Spoiling
  4. I pass priority to my opponent

Sudden Spoiling has Split Second, which means that says players cannot cast spells or activate non-mana abilities while it is on the stack:

Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)

After Sudden Spoiling resolves, will players be able to interact with Massacre Wurm on the stack?

1 Answer 1

8

Yes, the opponent can interact with the Massacre Wurm spell after Sudden Spoiling resolves.

There is a round of priority (when players have the opportunity to take actions) both each time a player casts a spell or activates an ability, and also each time a single spell or ability resolves. The Split Second ability only prevents players from casting spells and activating non-mana abilities while the spell is on the stack. Once Sudden Spoiling resolves, it is no longer on the stack, so players can once again do those things.

8
  • 1
    Side note - the opponent can interact with massacre wurm even while a split second spell is on the stack, provided they don't cast any spells or activate any abilities to do so. I'm not entirely sure how to engineer that yet May 1, 2023 at 5:41
  • 1
    Voidmage Apprentice can do it.
    – murgatroid99
    May 1, 2023 at 6:04
  • I know nothing of MTG, so forgive me if this is a silly question, but does the opponent theoretically have the ability to counter-spell Massacre Wurm before OP cast Sudden Spoiling? What if OP puts down both cards at the same time, can the opponent "interject" their counter-spell "before" the Sudden Spoiling? May 1, 2023 at 16:12
  • 1
    No. After casting a spell, the same player gets priority again, so they have the first opportunity to cast another spell.
    – murgatroid99
    May 1, 2023 at 16:14
  • 3
    You can't cast Massacre Wurm if Sudden Spoiling is on the stack.
    – murgatroid99
    May 2, 2023 at 1:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .