In Reversi or Othello, it is sometimes possible that you run out of stones but still need to make a move. Sources disagree upon the fact if you can or must use opponent's stones in this case. I watched numerous videos and people disagree so much about this rule. Someone say you can't use opponent's stones at all; others say you can and a few, you must.

I just wonder: Is there a unique official rule concerning this problem? Because if everyone starts playing according to their personal rules, that won't be too good.


1 Answer 1


I looked at a few sources for Othello rules, and they either didn't have any rules that cover this edge case or like Ultra Board Games state that you should take discs from your opponent if you run out.

When a player runs out of discs, but still has opportunities to outflank an opposing disc, then the opponent must give the player a disc to use.

  • Maybe they use double sided discs, where one side is black and the other side is white, so there is no "my discs" and "your discs"
    – Cohensius
    Jun 13, 2023 at 5:48
  • 2
    @Cohensius: I've never heard of a Reversi set that doesn't use reversible discs. I struggle to imagine how that would ever be practical to play. You'd have to constantly remove and replace discs every time someone made a move.
    – Kevin
    Jun 13, 2023 at 15:54
  • 2
    @Cohensius The discs are double sided, but rather than having a single pool that each player takes discs from the rules have them each take 32 as "their" discs (unless their opponent runs out)
    – diego
    Jun 13, 2023 at 15:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .