-1

I've seen numerous off hand comments claiming that Arena doesn't implement the rules of Magic the Gathering correctly. (Here's a single example on a comment to my answer: Does a phased-out Ring-bearer stop being the Ring-bearer when the Ring tempts you?)

Every rules discussion I follow on Stack Exchange that seems counter intuitive or wrong to me, I test on Arena, and it has always been implemented correctly.

I am aware that there have been some blatently bad bugs, aside from those, are there examples where the rules were implemented incorrectly?

3
  • 3
    I think the comment on your answer is accurate and it is a large assumption to think that they got things wrong.
    – Joe W
    Jul 27, 2023 at 12:36
  • 1
    While a lot of them are UI-only, a number of things in the publicly documented Arena Known Issues List are gameplay affecting. Jul 27, 2023 at 12:57
  • I only see a few items on that list that are even potentially incorrect implementations of game rules, and most of those are phrased in a way that they could just be UI bugs.
    – murgatroid99
    Jul 27, 2023 at 15:19

2 Answers 2

4

There have been instances in the past when cards were implemented incorrectly. For example, there was a bug in March where, as a result of code changes to make Gutter Grime work, equipment that granted abilities to the creature that referenced the equipment by name could affect every permanent you control (source). For example, activating the ability granted by Citizen's Crowbar would sacrifice all of your permanents to destroy one permanent, and activating the ability granted by Ninja's Kunai would sacrifice all of your permanents and deal 3 damage times the number of permanents sacrificed to the target.

1

Assuming that the analysis from the members here is correct, Arena is getting the rules incorrect in the scenario in this question: Goddric should be a 1/1 Citizen, but Arena has Goddric as a 1/1 Dragon instead.

3
  • Nevermind, I'm no longer sure Sep 27, 2023 at 13:59
  • 1
    Here's what I think Arena does: it either gets the timestamps wrong or incorrectly sees a dependency between Goddric and Witness Protection, so it applies Witness Protection's effect first, and it doesn't apply rule 613.6 correctly, so it doesn't apply Goddric's effect at all in layer 6 and 7.
    – murgatroid99
    Sep 27, 2023 at 16:27
  • 3
    Goddric? Who's Goddric? I only see a perfectly Legitimate Businessperson, no Goddric here. Sep 27, 2023 at 16:53

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .