4

I asked a general question about double sacrifice bonus, but thought it better to ask a specific question. If a creature has a "Sacrifice this creature for X" ability, can you sacrifice it for that ability and satisfy the requirement of the Eldrazi Monument with the same sacrifice (assuming it is done during the upkeep)?

Oracle Text:

  • Creatures you control get +1/+1, have flying, and are indestructible.
  • At the beginning of your upkeep, sacrifice a creature. If you can't, sacrifice Eldrazi Monument.
  • A lot of cards are worded to avoid this ambiguity. Instead of If you can't... they will say If no creature was sacrificed in this way... – corsiKa Oct 26 '12 at 21:23
8

No.

Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules:

117.10. Each payment of a cost applies to only one spell, ability, or effect. For example, a player can't sacrifice just one creature to activate the activated abilities of two permanents that each require sacrificing a creature as a cost. Also, the resolution of a spell or ability doesn't pay another spell or ability's cost, even if part of its effect is doing the same thing the other cost asks for.

4

No. Card text that instructs you to perform an action is telling you to perform that action for this card. Other similar actions you could take just because don't apply.

Consider the example of two Propagandas on the field: paying (2) to satisfy one of them does not "pay off" the other.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.