I've been playing checkers for quite some time. Recently a question arose which puzzled both of us:

Can white keep going in the same turn?

Can white move along the red line, i.e. eat the first black checker, reach the end, gain promotion, and then keep moving and eat two more checkers, or does promotion end the turn, with white remaining at the end?

I suppose the variant I play matches closest with English draughts, just with white starting.

  • 2
    You need to be specific about exactly which variant of "checkers" you are playing as there are many, many variants which have different rules. Commented Aug 31, 2023 at 7:38
  • @philip-kendall Done. Thanks. Gosh, I had no idea there were THAT many! Commented Aug 31, 2023 at 8:35
  • 2
    Since the board you're showing is 12x12, wouldn't it be Canadian checkers? Canadian checkers follow the same rules as International checkers (10x10), meaning the piece will not be crowned but continues on to capture the other pieces.
    – Dennis_E
    Commented Sep 1, 2023 at 9:22
  • @dennis-e You're quite right, however, I found some random online checkers game to illustrate the problem, that isn't the size board I play with. I'll edit accordingly. Commented Sep 1, 2023 at 9:31

1 Answer 1


Admittedly without citation, the Wikipedia page for English draughts states:

If a man moves into the kings row or if it jumps into the kings row, the current move terminates; the piece is crowned as a king but cannot jump back out as in a multi-jump until the next move.

The same "turn ends" rule can be found in e.g. the WCDF Rules available from the American Checker Federation.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .