What happens when you sacrifice a creature enchanted with Gift of Immortality in response to a boardwipe?

  • Just to be clear: Do you sacrifice the creature before the board wipe resolves, or afterwards?
    – Hackworth
    Sep 12 at 15:37
  • 1
    Either way I believe that you would lose the creature and the enchantment since Gift of Immortality has a delayed trigger to reattached to the creature. The first effect would kill the creature while it is enchanted with Gift of Immortality and it would be brought back onto the field while the second effect would kill it while not enchanted and then Gift of Immortality would try to reattached at the end of the turn a fail and end up in the graveyard.
    – Styxsksu
    Sep 12 at 15:41
  • @Hackworth How could you sacrifice the creature after the board wipe resolves?
    – GendoIkari
    Sep 12 at 18:23
  • 1
    @GendoIkari "When enchanted creature dies, return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control." Then you sac it with the same unspecified outlet that would allow you to sac it beforehand.
    – Hackworth
    Sep 12 at 19:16

1 Answer 1


If you sacrifice the enchanted creature in response to the board wipe (before it resolves), the creature dies and returns to the battlefield under its owner's control, while Gift of Immortality itself goes to the graveyard. The board wipe then resolves, killing the creature again, but this time without the enchantment, so the creature just goes to the graveyard as usual. When the end step arrives, Gift of Immortality tries to return to the battlefield attached to the creature, but since the creature is no longer on the battlefield, Gift of Immortality remains in the graveyard.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .