-2

I don't know the best way to word it in the title, but I have a mono white card that has the option to use green mana or life to transform the card. Now since the card color is white is it good to use in a mono white deck?

3
  • 1
    Are you talking about the card Tarkir Duneshaper?
    – murgatroid99
    Oct 6, 2023 at 19:25
  • 3
    Are you asking about the rules ("can it be used") or strategy suggestions ("is it a good idea")? The title of the question doesn't match the body there.
    – GendoIkari
    Oct 6, 2023 at 19:36
  • 4
    If you're talking about Commander or a close variant (Oathbreaker, Brawl, etc) note that those formats care about color identity, not color. Oct 6, 2023 at 19:47

1 Answer 1

1

As murgatroid99 said, I'll assume you are referring to Tarkir Duneshaper. (To link to a card, type [mtg:CardName].) But "is it good to use" isn't clear enough for a single answer.

If your question is "can I legally put the card into my mono-white deck":

  • If you're playing any format but Commander, the answer is yes. In contrast to some card games like Hearthstone, Magic lets you put any card you want in a deck, even if your deck can't produce the colors of mana necessary to cast or activate it.
  • If you're playing Commander, the answer is no. In Commander, all cards must have a color identity that is a subset of your commander's color identity (see rule 903.4). If your commander is mono-white, then the Phyrexian green mana symbol in Tarkir Duneshaper is a symbol not in the commander's identity, so you can't include it.

If your question is "will I be able to transform the card in a mono-white deck", the answer is yes. The Phyrexian green mana symbol on Tarkir Duneshaper can be paid with {G} or 2 life. You can choose to pay 2 life and pay the remaining {4} with white mana.

1
  • Or there are all sorts of ways to generate green mana in a mono-white deck anyway. Oct 6, 2023 at 22:09

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .