3

I was playing with an Edgar Markov deck and a question came up: would using Maskwood Nexus' tap ability:

3, {T}: Create a 2/2 blue Shapeshifter creature token with changeling (It is every creature type)

trigger Edgar's Eminence ability:

Whenever you cast another Vampire spell, if Edgar Markov is in the command zone or on the battlefield, create a 1/1 black Vampire creature token.

1 Answer 1

11

No, because you have not cast a spell. Activating an ability to create a token is a different game action.

7
  • 2
    If it said "Whenever a Vampire enters the battlefield", however, then it would trigger.
    – nick012000
    Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 10:44
  • 4
    True. But it doesn't - if nothing else because doing so would create an infinite loop as each token triggers another one. Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 10:47
  • 5
    @JamesFaix that is one, but not the only, way to cast a spell - e.g. casting your commander from the command zone is still casting a spell, even though the card does not start in your hand. Many other ways exists as well (flashback, etc). Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 15:59
  • 5
    @JamesFaix Nope, ‘casting a spell’ means doing something that the rules define as casting a spell (that is seriously the only sane way to describe it). Mostly covered by rule 601, but also by a huge number of other rules (off the top of my head, 702.34, 702.62, 702.81, 702.86, 702.88, and 903.8, but I’m sure there are others), as well as some cards that just let you cast things from other places under special circumstances (for example, Panglacial Wurm, or the various cards with Hideaway). Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 18:07
  • 1
    Ok that's fair. I think my comment is a good first approximation for someone who is unsure of the difference between casting a spell vs a token entering the battlefield. A lot of the edge cases like flashback or madness also mention casting in their reminder text.
    – JamesFaix
    Commented Oct 19, 2023 at 22:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .