Moritte of the Frost may enter the battlefield as a copy of a permanent you control. Dark Depths enters the battlefield with 10 ice counters on it. If I have Moritte enter as a copy of my Dark Depths, does it have 10 ice counters on it?

  • Dark Depths is legendary though,
    – Neil Meyer
    Commented Nov 5, 2023 at 18:08
  • @NeilMeyer the combos that use it don't care, the point is to cheat out Marit Lage as fast as you can by either removing all the counters at once (Vampire Hexmage) or having never had them there in the first place (Solemnity or Thespian's Stage) Having to sacrifice the original due to legend rule in the versions of the combo that copy the card doesn't bother the deck.
    – Andrew
    Commented Nov 14, 2023 at 17:11

1 Answer 1


Yes. By copying Dark Depths, it acquires the ability "Dark Depths enters the battlefield with ten ice counters on it.", and thus gets the ice counters.

(In contrast, Thespian's Stage works as a combo with Dark Depths because it can turn into a copy after it has entered the battlefield, and thus without getting the ice counters.)

707.5. [...] If the text that's being copied includes any abilities that replace the enters-the-battlefield event (such as "enters the battlefield with" or "as [this] enters the battlefield" abilities), those abilities will take effect. [...]

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .