In Carcassonne, does the Bazaar in the farm play and count like a cloister in the farm? What about on the road and in a city? We understand how to initiate the auctions but are not sure how to treat the Bazaar itself and for scoring purposes. We assume it completes or ends a road.

  • Yes, welcome! I've edited the title to cover all the cases you asked about, and I've made small edits to the question. If you feel this changes what you were trying to say, feel free to roll back my changes, or to make other edits yourself! Commented Jan 3, 2012 at 21:06

1 Answer 1



Per the Carcassonne Annotated Rules, the Bazaar ends a road, although it is not directly stated.

It seems clear that a bazaar ends a road in the same way as a crossing or bushes

The Bazaar itself is not a feature that a meeple can be put on. It does not count as a cloister. It doesn't change farm or city scoring.

  • What about the first question? Does the bazaar play like a cloister in that a follower (meeple) can be placed on the bazaar?
    – Jon
    Commented Jan 4, 2012 at 19:08
  • @jon - did I answer your question? I'm not certain I understand what you were looking for there.
    – Pat Ludwig
    Commented Jan 4, 2012 at 20:19
  • OK, I appologize and now I see the answer above. This is the first time using this site and I missed that answer, thanks!
    – Jon
    Commented Jan 5, 2012 at 5:22
  • @Jon - no worries, I did edit the answer to add the last paragraph.
    – Pat Ludwig
    Commented Jan 5, 2012 at 5:23
  • We just received the tower and the count should be here today...we may be crazy, but we want to play the game with most or all the expansions...it took us 3 hours with the expansions I have todate.
    – Jon
    Commented Jan 6, 2012 at 15:15

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .