If I have in play a Selesnya Evangel and tap Tolsimir Wolfblood to create a Saproling, can I create the 2/2 green/white Voja too? Thank you.


1 Answer 1


Not in the way you describe; both abilities require tapping the Wolfblood as part of their cost; you can't pay one cost to pay for both abilities.

Think of it this way: if a fries and a soda each cost $1 (and you only have $1), you can get one or the other, but not both.

Abilities in Magic the Gathering are written as {cost}:{effect}.

Selesnya Evangel's ability says:

1, T, Tap an untapped creature you control: Create a 1/1 green Saproling creature token.

Paying for this ability requires 1 mana, tapping the Evangel, and tapping another untapped creature you control.

Tolsimir Wolfblood's ability says:

T: Put a legendary 2/2 green and white Wolf creature token named Voja into play.

Paying for this ability only requires tapping Tolsimir.

You could, however, change the order and do the following:

  1. Activate Tolsimir's ability to create the wolf token
  2. Then activate Selesnya Evangel, tapping the newly created wolf token, to creature a Saproling.

Note that there are abilities that work more like your original idea, but they're worded much differently. For example, check out Emmara, Soul of the Accord:

Whenever Emmara, Soul of the Accord becomes tapped, create a 1/1 white Soldier creature token with lifelink.

Emmara has a triggered ability that creates a token whenever it becomes tapped, for any reason (when she attacks, or tapping her for the Evangel's ability, or if it got tapped down by an opponent's Benalish Trapper).

  • I see, so is it possible to tap permanents during the turn they are played if its not to attack or it works just because the permanent is a token created from an ability instead that from the deck? Sorry for the confusion, it's been quite a while and I'm trying to re-learn. Commented Nov 3, 2023 at 14:59
  • @IStoleTheMuffin you will want to read boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/25234/… Commented Nov 3, 2023 at 15:08
  • 1
    No problem, and you've hit on a key point: you can't tap a creature for its own ability on the turn it comes into play (unless it has haste), but the Evangel's "Tap an untapped creature you control" cost doesn't have that restriction, so you can tap the newly-created wolf token to help pay for this ability.
    – BradC
    Commented Nov 3, 2023 at 15:08
  • 2
    Not exactly true. It's the tap symbol. Abilities like [mtg:Heritage Druid] can tap themselves the turn they come in.
    – JonTheMon
    Commented Nov 3, 2023 at 16:59

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .