1

just getting into tichu and i'm confused about one thing. when someone plays the mah jong card and creates a wish for a 5 for example, and the next person does not have a 5, the rules say even if that next person does not have a 5 that they can play a lawful card or pass. does that mean if they don't have a 5, they can play a 6? then it goes on to say that the wish remains until someone plays a 5. so after that person plays a 6, can someone play a 5? or no, since that's not of a higher rank than 6?

thank you.

1 Answer 1

1

For your first question: yes, if you do not have a 5, then you cannot fulfill the wish and you can play any legal play instead, including a 6.

For your second question: no, a player cannot play a 5 after a 6 has been played.

The wish does not exempt players from making only legal plays.

If you're currently playing single cards and a single 6 has been played, then no one can legally play a 5 (except in a bomb), because you can only play cards higher than 6.

The wish will remain in effect until someone can legally fulfill it.

When a player plays the Mah Jong, he is allowed to wish for a certain rank (for example an 8 or an Ace, but not a special card). The next player who has a card of the desired rank, and can lawfully play it, must play it (possibly in a bomb! or rarely in a sequence). A player who does not hold or cannot play a card of the desired rank can play any lawfull card or pass. The wish remains in force until someone fulfils it.

Source

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .