1

Would adding a +1/-1 token to Polyraptor with Skullclamp count as “damage” and trigger Polyraptor? I am guessing the answer is “no”. That this is just an adjustment to toughness, not damage.

1
  • 13
    By the way, there's no such thing as a "+1/-1 token" in Magic. You might be thinking of things like +1/+1 counters and -1/-1 counters, but counters are different from tokens, and if something puts those counters on a creature, it will literally use the words "+1/+1 counter" or "-1/-1 counter" (or it will reference an ability, like explore, whose definition literally uses those words). Skullclamp doesn't say anything about counters, so it just gives the creature +1/-1 which is not represented by a token or counter or anything.
    – David Z
    Nov 13, 2023 at 9:01

1 Answer 1

10

You're right, the answer is "no". Giving a creature -1 to toughness can kill an indestructible creature, for example, but any amount of damage cannot kill an indestructible creature. No damage is done; Polyraptor does not trigger.

By the way Skullclamp does not give a "+1/-1 token". It gives a +1/-1 effect. Tokens, like the ones created by Raise the Alarm, are actual permanents that stay on the battlefield until removed. Skullclamp's effect disappears once it's moved to another creature.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .