0

This question is related to this one.

If I destroyed an artifact with the sorcery part of Stormkeld Vanguard can I then blitz it with Henzie "Toolbox" Torre from exile?

2
  • 1
    What part of the Q&A you linked does not apply to your question?
    – Hackworth
    Nov 22, 2023 at 12:38
  • I'm relatively certain it works, just interested in an canonical answer that I can bookmark and show my playgroup, it keeps getting up and people keep think I'm trying to sell them a baloney sandwich when I tell them it works
    – Neil Meyer
    Nov 22, 2023 at 12:45

1 Answer 1

2

Yes, you may blitz applicable creatures from exile.

You blitz a card by casting it for the alternative mana cost granted by Blitz. Blitz makes no limitation on from where you may cast that creature, so casting it from your hand, from exile, or from anywhere else works all the same. You simply follow the normal spell casting procedure for alternative cost spells.

601.2. To cast a spell is to take it from where it is (usually the hand), put it on the stack, and pay its costs [..]

702.152a [..] “Blitz [cost]” means “You may cast this card by paying [cost] rather than its mana cost,” [..] Casting a spell for its blitz cost follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .