Stack Exchange Network
Stack Exchange network consists of 181 Q&A communities including
Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers.
Visit Stack Exchange
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It only takes a minute to sign up.
Sign up to join this community
Anybody can ask a question
The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
11 years, 5 months ago
In the rules for the European game, the last sentence under "Building a Train Station" states
A player is never required to build any Stations. For each Station a
player has not used, four points are added to his score at the end of
Does this mean that
four points are added if he does
not build a train station, or the points are added only if he builds the station but does
not use it for one of his routes, i.e. he may put a station in but then not use a route which the station opens up?
4,545 1 1 gold badge 18 18 silver badges 47 47 bronze badges
Jan 5, 2012 at 18:48
H. Holt NIelsen H. Holt NIelsen
241 1 1 gold badge 2 2 silver badges 3 3 bronze badges
It means for each Station that you don't play, you get four points at the end of the game. The idea is to force you to weigh up the cost (cards, loss of bonus points) against the benefits (completing your route).
It would be a pretty weird rule if it rewarded you for placing Stations, but making sure you don't use them on any route...
Jan 5, 2012 at 20:53
18.1k 8 8 gold badges 74 74 silver badges 97 97 bronze badges
An unused station is one you have not put on the board.
For each station still in your supplies at end of game, you get those 4 points. If you've put it on the board, it's been used, even if you don't need it there to complete your tickets.
I base this upon extensive play of TTR:E on daysofwonder.com.
Jan 6, 2012 at 6:19
8,230 1 1 gold badge 26 26 silver badges 43 43 bronze badges
log in to answer this question.
Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged
By clicking “Accept all cookies”, you agree Stack Exchange can store cookies on your device and disclose information in accordance with our
Accept all cookies
Necessary cookies only