We flipped the stack of uno cards and a yellow skip card appeared.

Should the next person's turn be skipped or not?

1 Answer 1


No, you don't take any actions based on the card you see after a flip.

Here's the full rules of what happens when you play a flip card:

Flip Card - when you play this card, everything flips over from the Light Side to the Dark Side. Once the Flip card has been played, flip over the Discard Pile (the card just played will now be on the bottom), then the Draw Pile, then everyone’s hands must flip to the other side. This new side will remain in play until another Flip card is played, changing it again. This card may only be played on a matching color or on another Flip card.

No mention of skipping or reversing or taking any other actions based on what card is on top after the flip.

The face-up card on the discard pile simply determines the next legal play:

Whether playing the Light Side or the Dark Side, on your turn, you must match a card from your hand to the card on the top of the DISCARD pile, either by number, color or symbol (symbols represent Action Cards; see FUNCTIONS OF ACTION CARDS).

So the next player either plays a yellow or skip card (matching the top card), or a wild.

  • 1
    In addition, the rules for each of the action cards (ie a skip) begins "When you play this card" - a card appearing on top after a flip hasn't just been played. Also worth noting that after the first flip, every flip thereafter will result in a flip card being on top (until the draw pile runs out and the discards are shuffled), and you wouldn't then infinitely keep flipping them, in the same way you don't skip. Apr 9 at 16:02

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .