2

My opponent plays The Akroan War, then on his next turn the chapter 2 ability triggers.

The Akroan War

If I play a creature with haste, does the effect created by the chapter 2 ability apply to that creature? i.e. does that creature have to attack?

3
  • Good reason to wait until your second main phase to play that creature with haste.
    – BradC
    Apr 12 at 16:53
  • @BradC The scenario for my question was I was facing a Gruul deck with my Izzet Phoenix deck in Pioneer, and my Arclight Phoenix would be resurrected at beginning of combat, so sadly I couldn't do that :(
    – thesilican
    Apr 13 at 4:09
  • Unless you can tap him for somethin before attackers are declared yes.
    – Neil Meyer
    Apr 16 at 15:18

4 Answers 4

5

Yes

The other answers are good, but to provide the comprehensive rules that explain it:

611.2c If a continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability modifies the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects, the set of objects it affects is determined when that continuous effect begins. After that point, the set won’t change. (Note that this works differently than a continuous effect from a static ability.) A continuous effect generated by the resolution of a spell or ability that doesn’t modify the characteristics or change the controller of any objects modifies the rules of the game, so it can affect objects that weren’t affected when that continuous effect began. If a single continuous effect has parts that modify the characteristics or changes the controller of any objects and other parts that don’t, the set of objects each part applies to is determined independently.

This particular continuous effect does not modify characteristics or change controllers of objects, so it falls into the second category, and it will effect objects that weren't around at the time it was created. Notably, "must attack if able" is not a characteristic:

109.3. An object’s characteristics are name, mana cost, color, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, abilities, power, toughness, loyalty, defense, hand modifier, and life modifier

5

Yes

Here is the relevant ruling on gatherer:

If a creature can't attack for any reason (such as being tapped or having come under that player's control that turn), then it doesn't attack. If there's a cost associated with having it attack, the player isn't forced to pay that cost, so it doesn't have to attack in that case either.

So this effect applies at the declare attackers step, not when the second lore counter is removed. This is the same way that Fumiko, Kardur, and angler turtle work.

4

Yes,

The Akroan War's second chapter ability is worded the same as Kardur, Doomscourge's ETB ability:

When Kardur, Doomscourge enters the battlefield, until your next turn, creatures your opponents control attack each combat if able and attack a player other than you if able.

He has this ruling:

Kardur’s first ability affects all creatures your opponents control, including any that enter the battlefield after the ability resolves.

1

Yes

I'm not sure why you think it's not clear - it's under your control, and it's able to attack, so it's affected by The Akroan War's 2nd chapter ability and must attack. Haste has no effect except making the creature able to attack; if it didn't have Haste, then it can't attack, so it doesn't have to attack.

2
  • 4
    Some continuous effects only apply to creatures currently on the battlefield. For example, an ability that says "Creatures you control gain haste until end of turn" will not give haste to creatures that enter after the ability resolves.
    – thesilican
    Apr 12 at 5:26
  • 1
    (To be clear about something that's kind of implicit, the crucial difference here is the word "gain". That's a one-off event. It could instead have been phrased as "Until end of turn, creatures you control have haste" to get this continuous behaviour.) Apr 14 at 12:25

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .