If there is already the word "APPLE" on the board and I have an "S", is it allowed to make it "APPLES" or do I always have to put at least two letters on the board?


3 Answers 3


Yes, you can play just a single tile. The official rules state so explicitly:

  1. The first turn
  • The first word must be at least 2 letters long.
  • ...
  1. Every other turn
  • ...
  • A single letter may be played on subsequent turns.

And the tip

Add a letter (or letters) to an existing word. And build off it, if you can!

Further solidifies that your play can be just extending a word (you are encouraged to also build off of it "if you can").

  • 1
    Thank you. So Weather Vane's answer is not fully correct, as you must start with a 2-letter word. Also I knew that you can play a single letter, I just wasn't sure if you have to create a new word (e..g, adding a vertical letter to a horizontal word) or if you can really simply extend an existing word without also building a new one.
    – D.R.
    Commented Jun 3 at 5:25
  • 1
    @D.R. Ah, yes. I'll add the bit from the tips section to further that point. Commented Jun 3 at 17:14

Yes, that is a legal play as you are forming a new word.


Not only is this legitimate, it is often an extremely good move. Not "APPLE" -> "APPLES" - that will get you at most 30 points (A 1, P 3, P 3, L 1, E 1, S 1 = 10, with S on Triple Word = 30, and a good player would be unlikely to play a word like APPLE to end just before an available Triple Word space). But if you can place Q or Z on a Triple Letter next to two good vowels you get 62 points. If one of the new words is more than just two letters then you can get even more points.

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .