3

Genku, Future Shaper is a white/blue card that includes this ability:

Whenever another nontoken permanent you control leaves the battlefield, choose one that hasn't been chosen this turn. Create a creature token with those characteristics.

  • 2/2 white Fox with vigilance.
  • 1/2 blue Moonfolk with flying.
  • 1/1 black Rat with lifelink.

Can I use black in a Genku commander deck because of his ability to make 1/1 black rat tokens?

0

1 Answer 1

6

No, you can not use black, red, and/or green cards in a Genku commander deck.

What matters for commander deck construction is color identity:

903.4. The Commander variant uses color identity to determine what cards can be in a deck with a certain commander. The color identity of a card is the color or colors of any mana symbols in that card’s mana cost or rules text, plus any colors defined by its characteristic-defining abilities (see rule 604.3) or color indicator (see rule 204).

Genku's color identity is white and blue. Color words don't count.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .